Press Releases, Student Life

NCC Announces Rocky Mount Rotary Open Door Scholars Program


Nash Community College President Bill Carver announced Monday the naming of the Rocky Mount Rotary Open Door Scholars Program. The scholarship, established in 2016 and funded by the annual Tackle the Tar event, provides educational opportunities for NCC students to acquire the skills needed to prepare for successful careers.

The program naming was inspired by Dr. W. Dallas Herring’s belief in total education. As the former Chair of the North Carolina State Board of Education, Herring was an innovator and visionary who made significant contributions to the establishment, development, and expansion of the North Carolina Community College System. Often referred to as the “father of the NC community colleges,” he believed that education should be available to all, and that community colleges should “….take people from where they are, as far as they can go.” Herring devoted his life to opening the doors of opportunity and learning for all North Carolinians.

The NCC Foundation was awarded $22,000 this year by Rotary Club of Rocky Mount from proceeds raised at the Rotary-sponsored 5k obstacle course race and family fun day. Over the past few years, Nash Community College students have benefited from $51,000 awarded in student scholarships by the Rotary Club.

Congratulations to the following Rocky Mount Rotary Open Door Scholars scholarship recipients: Joshua Barbour, Criminal Justice Technology, Rocky Mount; Danielle Batts, General Education – Medical Assisting, Nashville; Sherrie Brizendine, Practical Nursing Diploma, Spring Hope; Lorenzo Celaya- Orozco, Associate Degree Nursing, Bailey; Michaela Cooper, Medical Sonography, Whitakers; Brianna Denton, Associate in General Education – Nursing, Middlesex; Amanda Duke, Early Childhood Education, Spring Hope; Latrisa Green, Culinary Arts, Whitakers; Haley Honeycutt, Associate in Science, Nashville; Cortney Mellas, Electronics Engineering Technology, Middlesex; Heather Ogburn, Associate Degree Nursing, Whitakers; Zachary Perry, Associate in Science, Bailey; Josue Ramirez-Pioquinto, Electrical Systems Technology, Spring Hope; Eddie Stansbury, Welding Technology, Rocky Mount; Crystal Tyson, Associate Degree Nursing, Rocky Mount; and Ashleigh Worrell, Human Services Technology Gerontology, Rocky Mount.

Pictured above (L-R) Rotary Club Past President Garry Hodges, Tackle the Tar Chair Kristen Brabble, NCC President Dr. Bill Carver, NCC Trustee Mary Wells, Rotary Club President Elect Neill Nelson, NCC Trustee Sonny Foster and NCC Foundation Board Secretary Lyn Brown.