Students Inducted into Honor Society


Nash Community College students were inducted into Gamma Beta Phi Honor Society during a ceremony held in Brown Auditorium on Wednesday, October 30, 2019.

Gamma Beta Phi is a non-profit, co-educational, honor and service organization for students in colleges and universities. Its objectives are to recognize and encourage excellence in education, to promote the development of leadership ability and character, and to foster, disseminate, and improve education through appropriate service projects.

Vice President of Advancement Pam Ballew was the keynote speaker. “Find your passion and it will fuel your motivation to be the very best you can be,” she said. “Do not allow obstacles to define you or hold you back. Figure out how to make them work in your favor. Decide which personal sacrifices you are willing to make. And, if somewhere along the way you decide to live out a lifelong dream, just remember that it’s never too late. If you do all of these things, I promise you, you will not finish last.”​​

To be eligible for Gamma Beta Phi, NCC students must hold a 3.0 or higher cumulative grade point average and must have earned 12 or more semester hours in a major at Nash Community College. NCC’s chapter was recognized among colleges throughout the United States as a 2018 – 2019 Distinguished Chapter. Only one other North Carolina community college received the honor. The distinction of Distinguished Chapter honors chapters who have excelled in the chapter programming, recruitment campaigns, service projects, monthly meetings, leadership, and local community impact.

Congratulations to the Fall 2019 Gamma Beta Phi Honor Society Inductees:

Jonna Anthony, Kimberly Artis, Zoe Atkinson, Stephanie Bartlett, Tiffany Boswell, JoHanah Bottoms, Teshiyah Demery, Shamarra Gilbert, Ellis Guy, Jessica Joyner, Tiffany Kirby, Ariel Langley, Crystal Parker, Frank Raya-Viera, Lydia Shirley, Justin Sullivan.

NCC Gamma Beta Phi Officers are Amberleigh Dornseif, president; Angela Bennett, vice president; Margarite Jackson, treasurer. Instructor Christine Ricci serves as advisor.