Alumni, Press Releases

NCC Selects 2020 Outstanding Alumni Award Recipient

Desiree Dolberry

Nash Community College has selected Desiree Dolberry as its 2020 Outstanding Alumni Award recipient.

Desiree graduated from NCC in 2015 with an Associate in Applied Science in Advertising and Graphic Design, with honors. During her time at NCC, she maintained a 3.8 cumulative GPA.

Desiree was an intern in the College’s marketing department, during her second year as a student, assisting with graphic design and other marketing and communication campaigns.

Upon graduation, she began her career as Marketing and Events Coordinator at Rocky Mount Area Chamber of Commerce. She served in that capacity from 2015-2020 and recently was promoted to Vice President of Marketing and Events Coordinator at the Chamber. In her role, Desiree is responsible for the Chamber’s marketing and communication efforts, event planning and manages creative projects.

“Desiree is passionate about her work and her community, and uses her skillset and talents for the betterment of the Twin Counties,” Denise Beamer, NCC Coordinator of Donor and Alumni Relations said. “This is evident in every aspect of the work she does at the Chamber and in the community.”

Desiree founded the Young Professionals of the Twin Counties (YoPros) and is their co-organizer. She currently serves on the Nash Community College Advisory Committee for Advertising and Graphic Design and the Small Business Center.

Additionally, Desiree is actively involved on the Rocky Mount Small Business Exchange Committee, Rocky Mount Chamber Small Business Committee, Strategic Twin Counties Education Partnership Education Summit Committee, as the Leadership Twin Counties Development Coordinator, and with the Boys and Girls Club of the Tar River Region.

The College honors an Outstanding Alumni recipient annually in recognition of the contributions students and graduates make in their profession and community. As part of the recognition, the recipient serves as a member of the NCC Foundation Board of Directors.