Press Releases

NCC Announces Electric Line Construction Academy Graduates


Nash Community College’s Electric Line Construction Academy students participated in an end-of-semester rodeo and graduation event on Thursday, December 10, 2020. Students practiced protected grounding, climbing obstacles and hurt man rescue techniques.

The Electric Line Construction Technology curriculum prepared these individuals to work as electric line construction technicians designing and repairing electrical utility services. Students learned electrical theory combined with laboratory and practical applications in their course of study. Throughout the program students mastered competencies of electricity, overhead pole and electrical line construction, safety codes and applications, electric power system, transformer and meter installations and the exploration of underground electrical distribution.

Students also learned about underground power distribution systems including terminators, elbows, transformers and safety practices associated with underground systems including how to delineate proper system makeup.

Congratulations to the rodeo winners: Caleb Sholar (first place), Bryce Cooke (second place), Nathaniel Curlee (third place)

The following students graduated with a third-class certificate and underground certificate:

Luke Adams, Four Oaks, NC
James Allen, Benson, NC
Spencer Ayscue, Clayton, NC
Austin Carpenter, Roanoke Rapids, NC
Holden Champion, Clinton, NC
Bryce Cooke, Halifax, NC , Ryan Barrett Memorial Lineman Scholarship Recipient
Nathaniel Curlee, Fayetteville, NC, Edgecombe-Martin EMC Electric Line Scholarship Recipient
Stephen Harris, Roanoke Rapids, NC, Currin-Noblin Scholarship Recipient
Nick Holton, Edenton, NC, Jonathan Hillis Electric Line Technology Merit Award and Sally E. Leonetti Unsung Hero Scholarship Recipient
Seth Johnson, Goldsboro, NC, Duke Energy Line Academy Scholarship Recipient
Aaron King, Siler City, NC
Kameron McLean, Lumberton, NC, Currin-Noblin Scholarship Recipient
Christopher Molina, Newport News, VA, Duke Energy Line Academy Scholarship
Jacob Robinson, Clayton, NC
Caleb Sholar, White Oak, NC
Chris Tripp, Roanoke Rapids, NC
Christopher Wise, Mount Olive, NC, Duke Energy Line Academy Scholarship Recipient
Congratulations to the following students who obtained the underground certificate:
Kiya Alexander, Sanford, NC
Riley Austin, Newton Grove, NC
Lane Price, Nashville, NC
For more information about the program, please call (252) 451-8379.