Press Releases

Detention Officers Complete Certification

Students from Nash, Edgecombe, Granville, Vance and Warren County Sheriff’s Offices completed Detention Officer training at Nash Community College on Friday, March 5, 2021. The certification includes 178 hours of instruction designed to train qualified participants to function as officers in detention facilities. The course is governed by the North Carolina Sheriffs’ and North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commissions.
Pictured from left: Emanuel Izelle Boyd, Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office; James Arnette Copeland, Jr. Warren County Sheriff’s Office;  Phyllis Renee Jenkins, Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office;  Michael Leonard Sanford, Granville County Sheriff’s Office;  Heather Liane Ellington, Granville County Sheriff’s Office;  Major Allen Wayne Wilson, Nash County Sheriff’s Office; Patrinia Evon Rogers, Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office; Travis Devonne Williams, Nash County Sheriff’s Office;  Jamie Shanette Saunders, Edgecombe County Sheriff’s Office; Captain Robert Edwin Bowen, Nash County Sheriff’s Office; Clayton Thomas Pegram, Vance County Sheriff’s Office; Starlett Philicia Kinard, Granville County Sheriff’s Office; D’Drick Arellano Mendez, Vance County Sheriff’s Office; DOCC School Director Wayne Lamm