Grants, Press Releases

Nash Community College Awarded DeLeon Carter Foundation Grant

This is a photo of DeLeon Carter Foundation Board Members presenting a grant check to Nash Community College.

Left to Right: Gus Tullos, DeLeon Carter Foundation Board Past-Chairman; Joseph F. Edwards, III, Vice Chairman; Pamela B. Larimer, Board Member; Jennifer Sharpe, NCC Grants Coordinator; Dr. Lew K. Hunnicutt, NCC President; George G. Whitaker, Chairman; Pam Ballew, NCC Vice President of Advancement/Executive Director of NCC Foundation; H. Lankford Dunton, III, Secretary; G. Vincent Durham, Jr., Trustee

Nash Community College recently received a $12,500 grant from the DeLeon Carter Foundation for its Myrtle Carter Henry Amphitheater.

The funds will be used to install sail shades over both the stage and seating areas.

“The shades will significantly reduce temperature and block UV radiation for all our guests,” said Dr. Lew K. Hunnicutt, president at NCC. “We are excited and thankful to the DeLeon Carter Foundation’s continued generosity and commitment to being an impactful partner of this great college.”

The sail shades will make the space more accessible during the summer months.

The amphitheater was created in 2003 and enhanced in 2014 with support from the DeLeon Carter Foundation. The amphitheater provides a beautiful and unique garden venue surrounded by additional foliage and a small pond.

Henry created the DeLeon Carter Foundation on April 17, 1987, with a dinner for two original trustees and six founding directors at her home. Since it began making grants in 1997, the DeLeon Carter Foundation has given approximately $900,000.

NCC and the foundation’s partnership dates to 2001. The Myrtle Carter Henry Scholarship was established at Nash Community College in 2015 by the foundation to honor the memory of Myrtle Carter Henry. Years later, the DeLeon Carter Foundation re-named the scholarship to reflect its support as the Myrtle Carter Henry Veterinary Technology Scholarship. The scholarship is available to NCC Veterinary Medical Technology program students.